Thomas Colcombet



tel +33 (0) 1 57 27 92 61
fax +33 (0) 1 57 27 94 09

Mail address

Thomas Colcombet
IRIF - Case 7014
Université Paris Diderot
75205 Paris Cedex 13

Real address and mail by carrier

Office 4028a
Bâtiment Sophie Germain
8 place Aurélie Nemours
4ème étage
75013 Paris
(secretariat’s office +33 (0) 1 57 27 92 56)

Some pieces of information

I am a senior researcher of the Cnrs in automata and applications team at Irif (Paris, France). I have defended my PhD thesis in 2004, and my habilitation thesis in 2013 (the document in french). More details can be found in my CV.

I am mainly interested in logic, automata theory and games related to verification.

More precisely, I am interested in model theory, finite model theory, monadic-second order logic, databases, language theory, semigroups, automata theory and in particular quantitative forms of automata (weighted automata, regular cost functions, nominal automata), as well as games for verification and model-checking.


I am teaching with Stefan Göller, Matthieu Picantin, and Jacques Sakarovitch the course ‘modélisation par automates finis’ in the Parisian Master of Research in Computer Science (MPRI).

There exist some notes (rather old in french), and more information can be found in the document of my habilitation.


I am developing the LaTeX package knowledge for helping in the creation of enriched scientific documents.


Former events.