About this project

Quantum technologies are developing at breakneck speed, yet understanding how quantum computers actually work remains out of reach beyond a small number of specialists. The very mathematical nature of quantum computing makes it difficult to convey precisely where it gains its advantage over conventional technologies. Metaphors to illustrate quantum superposition abound, but researchers and the popular science media alike are at a loss when it comes to explaining how simple protocols and algorithms work, and what precisely confers them an advantage over classical computing.

The goal of this project is to design and construct playful physical devices that model the basic constructs of quantum computation: qubits, superposition. Using this representation, we will explain precisely how simple quantum protocols and algorithms work. A digital interface will simulate these objects and make it possible to visualize and experiment with quantum circuits and algorithms.

The devices will allow us to deploy various learning opportunities, going from workshops with the general public, internal seminars and team-building activities for large businesses and quantum start-ups, as well as Master’s level courses and academic lectures.

A propos du projet

À l’heure actuelle, alors que les technologies quantiques sont en plein essor, le fonctionnement des ordinateurs quantiques est très peu compris au-delà d’un petit nombre de spécialistes. La nature très mathématique du calcul quantique est un obstacle important pour communiquer précisément ce qui confère l’avantage au calcul quantique par rapport aux technologies conventionnelles. Les métaphores pour expliquer la superposition quantique abondent, mais les chercheurs et acteurs de la médiation peinent à aller au-delà pour rendre accessible le fonctionnement d’un calcul quantique, et ce qui le distingue du calcul classique.

Le but du projet QuBOBS est de concevoir et créer de nouveaux dispositifs physiques qui modélisent les éléments de base du calcul quantique : qubit, superposition, enchevêtrement. Ensuite nous utiliserons cette représentation des qubits pour expliquer précisément le fonctionnement des algorithmes et protocoles quantiques simples. Ces dispositifs seront traduits dans une interface numérique qui en reprendra les différents éléments.

Les objets conçus dans le projet seront le vecteur d’une pédagogie participative pouvant être déployée dans différents contextes : ateliers grand public, workshops au sein des entreprises, tout comme dans les cours de niveau master et les exposés scientifiques.