Research themes

The main objective of the Distributed Computing team's research is the design and analysis of distributed algorithms, namely algorithms designed for a set of computing entities collaborating in the resolution of a task in the absence of global coordination. The distributed systems considered can obviously come from computer technology (multi-core, cloud, P2P networks, blockchain, etc.), but can also be related to biology (insect colony, cell networks, etc.), or even humanities (social networks, small worlds, etc.). The team's work therefore focuses on most of the fundamental models of distributed computing, from shared-memory models to message-passing models (in static or dynamic networks), in which the processes are potentially subject to different forms of failures or attacks, and in which the computing and communication capabilities may be restricted. The team is also conducting research on the design of distributed data structures for large-scale networks, typically related to navigation, routing, distance calculation, etc.

The applications of the research carried out within the team relate mainly to network science, complex systems, biological systems, transportation networks, and blockchain based systems. Several members of the team are also members of the Inria GANG project-team, the objective of which is the development of algorithmic methods for the design and control of large-scale networks.

Distributed network computing, as well as the design of distributed data structures, is very closely related to results in graph theory, and often aims at the distributed solution of classical graph problems. The team therefore maintains very close links with the team Theory and algorithmics of graphs at IRIF. Similarly, techniques for designing distributed algorithms are often based on the adaptation of sequential algorithms to distributed models. The team therefore also maintains very close links with the Algorithms and Complexity team at IRIF.


Seminar

The scientific talks by members or guests of the team take place as part of the weekly seminar shared with the Graph Team (Seminar Distributed Computing and Graphs), or, alternatively, as part of the Seminar Algorithms and Complexity.


Permanent members

Name@PhoneOfficePositionPoleTeam
Behr Nicolas @ 01 57 27 92 24 4030 Research Scientist - CNRS PPS , ASD systemes , preuves , distribue
Boufkhad Yacine @ 01 57 27 94 05 4018 Associate Professor ASD distribue
De Montgolfier Fabien @ 01 57 27 92 21 4029a Associate Professor ASD graphes , distribue
Delporte Carole @ 01 57 27 92 25 4006 Professor - directrice adjointe UFR informatique ASD distribue
Fauconnier Hugues @ 01 57 27 92 25 4006 Professor - directeur de l'UFR informatique ASD distribue
Fraigniaud Pierre @ 01 57 27 92 60 4019 Senior Research Scientist - CNRS ASD algocomp , distribue
Habib Michel @ 01 57 27 94 42 3042a Professor Emeritus ASD graphes , distribue
Korman Amos @ 01 57 27 94 06 4028 Senior Research Scientist - CNRS - Currently on sabbatical at FILOFOCS ASD algocomp , distribue
Krivine Jean @ 01 57 27 93 38 4026 Research Scientist - CNRS - Currently on leave PPS , ASD preuves , systemes , distribue
Rabie Mikael @ 01 57 27 93 38 4021 Associate Professor ASD distribue
Viennot Laurent @ 01 57 27 92 50 3016 Senior Research Scientist - INRIA ASD graphes , distribue


Non-permanent members

Équipe thématique


Responsable


Thèmes de recherche

Les recherches de l’équipe Calcul distribué ont pour principal objectif la conception et l'analyses d'algorithmes distribués, à savoir d'algorithmes conçus pour un ensemble d'entités de calcul collaborant à la résolution d'une tâche en l'absence de coordination globale. Les systèmes distribués considérés peuvent évidemment être issus de la technologie informatique (multi-cœurs, cloud, réseaux P2P, blockchain, etc.), mais peuvent également être relatifs à la biologie (colonie d'insectes, réseaux cellulaires, etc.), voire aux sciences humaines (réseaux sociaux, petits mondes, etc.). Les travaux de l'équipe portent donc sur la plupart des modèles fondamentaux de calcul distribué, des modèles à mémoire partagée aux modèles par passage de messages (dans un réseau statique ou dynamique), dans lesquels les processus sont potentiellement sujets à différentes formes de pannes ou d'attaques, et dans lesquels les capacités de calcul et de communication peuvent être restreintes. L'équipe mène également des recherches sur la conception de structures de données distribuées pour les réseaux à grande échelle, typiquement liées à des problèmes de navigation, de routage, de calcul de distances, etc.

Les applications de la recherche menée au sein de l'équipe ont principalement trait à la science des réseaux, les systèmes complexes, les systèmes biologiques, les réseaux de transport, et les systèmes basés sur blockchain. Plusieurs membres de l’équipe sont également membres du projet Inria GANG dont l’objectif est le développement de méthodes algorithmiques pour la conception et le contrôle des réseaux à grande échelle.

Le calcul distribué pour les réseaux, tout comme la conception de structures de données distribuées, est très étroitement lié à l'utilisation de résultats issus de la théorie des graphes, et vise souvent à la résolution en distribué de problèmes classiques de graphes. L'équipe entretient donc des liens très étroits avec l'équipe Théorie et algorithmique des graphes de l'IRIF. De même, les techniques de conception d'algorithmes distribués reposent souvent sur l'adaptation d'algorithmes séquentiels à des modèles distribués. L'équipe entretient donc également des liens très étroits avec l'équipe Algorithmes et complexité de l'IRIF.


Séminaire

Les exposés de membres ou d'invités de l'équipe s'effectuent dans le cadre du séminaire hebdomadaire partagée avec l'équipe Théorie et Algorithmique des Graphes (seminaire Algorithmique Distribué et Graphes), et parfois dans le cadre du seminaire Algorithmes et Complexité.


Permanents

Nom@TéléphoneBureauFonctionPôleÉquipe
Boufkhad Yacine @ 01 57 27 94 05 4018 Maître.sse de conférence ASD distribue
De Montgolfier Fabien @ 01 57 27 92 21 4029a Maître.sse de conférence ASD graphes , distribue
Delporte Carole @ 01 57 27 92 25 4006 Professeur.e - directrice UFR informatique ASD distribue
Fauconnier Hugues @ 01 57 27 92 25 4006 Professeur.e - directeur adjoint de l'UFR informatique ASD distribue
Fraigniaud Pierre @ 01 57 27 92 60 4019 Directeur.rice de recherche - CNRS ASD algocomp , distribue
Habib Michel @ 01 57 27 94 42 3042a Professeur.e émérite ASD graphes , distribue
Korman Amos @ 01 57 27 94 06 4028 Directeur.rice de recherche - CNRS - Currently on sabbatical at FILOFOCS ASD algocomp , distribue
Krivine Jean @ Chargé.e de recherche - CNRS - Currently on leave PPS , ASD systemes , preuves , distribue
Rabie Mikael @ 01 57 27 93 38 4021 Maître.sse de conférence - rabie ASD graphes , distribue
Viennot Laurent @ 01 57 27 92 50 3016 Directeur.rice de recherche - INRIA ASD graphes , distribue


Non-permanents