QuBobs help us explain the basic concepts of quantum computing.

What is a qubit?

A qubit is the unit of information of a quantum computer. A collection of qubits comprises the memory of the computer. A classical bit can be 0 or 1, which we then can use to encode data in binary, that is, as a sequence of 1s or 0s.

We represent each qubit as a colored disk. The color blue represents 0, and orange represents a 1.

Superposition

A qubit has two elementary states that correspond to classical values 0 and 1. A qubit can be in a superposition of these states, that is, it is “simultaneously” 0 and 1. This is similar to a coin that can land on heads or tails. As long as we have not looked at the outcome, our state of knowledge is that it is “both” heads and tails. Just like a biased coin, a qubit can have arbitrary proportions of 0 and 1. We say that the qubit is in superposition of the basis states. Just like randomness, superposition allows us to explore the space of solutions when systematic exploration would be too costly, but where favorable configurations are sufficiently likely for randomness to help us find one.

The proportion of 0 and 1 in the superposition is represented by the proportion of each color on the disk. A handcrank allows us to turn the “qubit” to illustrate the fact that it is in superposition of both of the basis states.

Amplitude

The amplitude of the basis state 0 is a coefficient that determines the proportion of the qubit that is in state 0, similarly for the amplitude of 1. Amplitudes can be positive or negative, If there were no signs then we would be describing classical randomized bits, which have nothing quantum about them.

The proportion of blue represented is the square of the amplitude of the basis state 0 . This proportion is always between 0 and 100%. The sum of the proportions of 0 and of 1 is 100%.

Observation

In order to obtain the result of a quantum computation, it is necessary to observe the system to read off the value that was computed. It is not possible to recover the precise amplitudes of a qubit, just as it it not possible to know the exact bias of a biased coin. We may, however, make an observation of the qubit, that is, obtain 0 or 1 with a probability that is equal to the square of the corresponding amplitude. Unlike a biased coin which has the same bias after each trial and observation, the qubit is much more fragile, Once the observation is made, the amplitudes are lost and the qubit becomes 100% the value that was observed.

To illustrate observation, we turn the hand crank and stop at a random time and look at the color that is under the observation window. This results in a sample of one of the two values with a probability equal to its proportion.

Sign and interference

Just as any number has two possible square roots, one negative and one positive, an amplitude can be positive or negative. However, this sign is invisible to the observer making a direct observation of a qubit. Yet the sign is crucial in quantum computation, as it is taken into consideration in all the operations that are made on the qubits during a computation. Each basis state in a superposition can have a positive (+) or negative (-) sign. The sign is also called phase. Two basis states can cancel as a result of opposite signs. This phenomenon is called interference. It is used in quantum computing to help useful configurations emerge, and to attenuate unwanted configurations.

The sign of a basis state is represented on a second wheel. The sign visible in the round window indicates the sign of the bases state visible in the qubit's observation window.

Normalisation

Just as probabilities sum to 1, the squares of the amplitudes of the basis states 0 and 1 sum to 1. What is important is the proportion of each color. Bringing the sum to 1 is called normalisation.

Since we only consider the proportion of each color, normalisation consists of assuming that the total area of the disk is 100%.

Computation on several qubits

A quantum computation requires the use of several qubits. There is no hope of beating a classical (randomised) computer unless the qubits get entangled in the course of the computation.

Two qubits

If each qubit has two basis states, 0 and 1, a pair of qubits has four basis states. 00, 01, 11, 10. A pair of qubits is therefore described by giving four coefficients (amplitudes) that determine the proportion of each of the four configurations.

We represent a pair of qubits by two disks. The way we arrange the disks and make them rotate will determine the proportion of the four configurations.

Separable qubits

We say two qubits are separable if they behave as two independent systems. This is analogous to throwing two biased coins. The result of the first coin does not have any influence on the result of the second coin (and vice versa).

Two separable qubits are represented by two disks that are activated by independent hand cranks. The observation of one qubits does not affect the observation of the second qubit.

Entangled qubits

If two qubit are not separable, they are called entangled. Without entanglement, no quantum advantage is possible.

Two entangled qubits are activated by a single hand crank and a pulley belt at the back of the machine that joins them together. When the hand crank stops, we can observe the first qubit. Assume we have observed a 0. This allows us to re-evaluate the proportions for the second qubit. This phenomenon is entirely similar to classical probabilities and conditional probabilities.

The signs of a pair of qubits

As for the single qubit, the sign of a pair of (entangled) qubits is essential to obtain a faithful representation of a pair of qubits. Without the signs, we would be representing a probabilitic system which requires no quantum technology. Each pair of values 0 0, 01, 11, 10 has a sign (+ or -).

The upshot: the two fundamental characteristics that give quantum computation its power are entanglement and signs.

More to come : How does a quantum computation work ?

We'll explain the following applications of quantum computation – all without any equations

  • Quantum circuits
  • Quantum gates
    • X gate (classical negation)
    • Z gate (sign flip)
    • CNOT gate (introduces entanglement)
    • Hadamard gate (introduces superposition and signs)
  • Quantum teleportation of a qubit
  • Deutsch's and Deutsch-Jossa's algorithms to illustrate interference
  • Grover's unordered search algorithm
  • Quantum non-locality

Also forthcoming : the mathematics behind our representation, and why it works.

Les quBobs nous aident à expliquer les principales notions autour du calcul quantique.

Qu'est-ce qu'un qubit?

C'est le support d'information de l'ordinateur quantique. Un ensemble de qubits forme la mémoire de l'ordinateur. Un bit classiqe est soit 0 ou 1, ce qui permet de faire un encodage des données en binaire, c'est-à-dire, comme une suite de 0 et de 1.

Nous représentons chaque qubit par un disque coloré. La couleur bleue représente le 0, la couleur orange représente le 1.

Superposition

Un qubit a deux états de base qui correspondent aux valeurs 0 et 1 des bits classiques. Un qubit peut être en superposition de ces états de base, c'est-à-dire qu'il est “à la fois” 0 et 1. C'est comme une pièce qu'on tire à pile ou face. Tant qu'on n'a pas regardé le résultat, on peut dire qu'il est “à la fois” 0 et 1. Comme les pièces biaisées, le qubit peut se présenter avec des proportions quelconques de 0 ou de 1. On dit alors qu'un qubit est en superposition des deux états de base. Comme l'aléa, la superposition sert à explorer l'espace des solutions lorsqu'il serait trop coûteur d'en faire l'exploration systématique, mais où le configurations favorables sont suffisamment probables pour que le hasard nous aide à en trouver.

La proportion de 0 et de 1 dans la superposition est représentée par la proportion de chaque couleur sur le disque. Une manivelle permet de faire tourner le “qubit”, pour représenter le fait qu'il et en superposition des deux états de base.

Amplitude

L'amplitude de l'état de base 0 est un coefficient qui détermine la proportion du qubit qui est dans l'état 0, de même pour l'amplitude de l'état de base 1. Les amplitudes peuvent être positives ou négatives. Si le signe était toujours positif, on décrirait un bit classique probabiliste, qui n'a rien de quantique.

La proportion de couleur bleue représentée est le carré de l'amplitude de l'état de base 0 . Cette proportion est toujours entre 0 et 100% et la somme des proportions est 100%.

Observation

Pour connaître le résultat d'un calcul quantique, il faut observer le système pour lire la valeur calculée. On ne peut pas apprendre avec précision les amplitudes d'un qubit, tout comme on ne peut pas connaître le biais exact d'une pièce biaisée. On peut cependant faire une observation, c'est-à-dire obtenir 0 ou 1 avec une probabilité égale au carré de son amplitude. Contrairement à la pièce biaisée qui garde le même biais après qu'on ait tiré à pile ou face et observé le résultat, le qubit est beaucoup plus fragile. Une fois l'observation d'un qubit effectuée, les amplitudes sont perdues et le qubit devient à 100% la valeur qui a été observée.

Pour faire une observation, on tourne la manivelle et on s'arrête à un moment aléatoire et on regarde la couleur qui se trouve sous la fenêtre d'observation. On obtient un tirage d'une des deux valeurs avec une probabilité égale à sa proportion.

Signe et interférence

Une amplitude peut être positive ou négative mais son signe d'une amplitude est invisible à l'observation directe d'un qubit. Celui-ci est pourtant crucial dans le calcul quantique car il est pris en compte dans toutes les opérations faites sur les qubits. Chaque état de base dans la superposition peut avoir un signe positif (+) ou négatif (-). Le signe s'appelle aussi phase. deux états de base peuvent s'annuler du fait de signes opposés. Ce phénomène s'appelle interférence. On l'utilise dans le calcul quantique pour faire émerger des configurations utiles dans le calcul et atténuer les configurations inutiles.

On représente le signe de chaque état de base sur une seconde roue. Le signe visible dans la fenêtre ronde indique le signe de l'état de base (couleur) visible dans la fenêtre d'observation du qubit.

Normalisation

Comme la somme des probabilités est 1, les carrés des amplitudes des états de base 0 et 1 ont pour somme 1. Ce qui importe c'est la proportion de chaque couleur. Ramener la somme à 1 s'appelle normalisation.

Comme on ne considère que la proportion de chaque couleur, la normalisation consiste à supposer que l'aire du disque qui rerprésente le qubit est égale à 100%.

Calcul sur plusieurs qubits

Un calcul quantique nécessite l'utilisation de plusieurs qubits. On ne peut pas espérer d'avantage calculatoire par rapport aux ordinateurs classiques si ceux-ci ne sont pas intriqués au cours du calcul.

Deux qubits

Si chaque qubit a deux états de base, 0 et 1, une paire de qubits a ainsi quatre états de base 00, 01, 11, 10. Une paire de qubits est donc décrite par quatre coefficients (amplitudes) qui déterminent la proportion de chacune des quatre configurations 00, 01, 11, 10.

On représente une paire de qubits par deux disques. La façon d'agencer et de faire tourner les deux roues déterminera la proportion des quatre configurations.

Qubits séparables

On dit que deux qubits sont séparables s'ils se comportent comme deux systèmes indépendants. C'est analogue au lancer indépendant de deux pièces biaisées, c'est à dire que le résultat obtenu sur la première pièce n'influe en aucune façon le résultat de la seconde pièce (et vice versa).

Deux qubits séparables sont représentés par deux qubits qui sont actionnés par des manivelle indépendantes. L'observation d'un qubit n'influe pas sur le résultat de l'observation de l'autre.

Qubits intriqués

Si deux qubits ne sont pas séparables, on dit qu'ils sont intriqués. Sans intrication, aucun avantage quantique n'est possible.

Deux qubits intriqués sont activés par une unique manivelle et un système de courroie à l'arrière de la machine relie les deux qubits. Lorsque la manivelle s'arrête, on peut observer le premier qbit. Supposons qu'on ait observé un 0. Ceci nous permet de réévaluer les proportions pour le second qubit. Ce phénomène est tout à fait similaire à ce qui se produits dans les probabilités classiques avec les probabilités conditionnelles.

Le signe d'une paire de qubits

Comme pour un qubit, le signe d'une paire de qubits intriqués est essentiel pour une représentation fidèle d'une paire de qubits, et sans le signe, on ne représente qu'un système probabiliste qui ne nécessite aucune technologie quantique. A chaque paire de valeurs 00, 01, 11, 10 est associée un signe (+ ou -).

A retenir: les deux caractéristiques fondamentales qui donnent au calcul quantique son avantage sont l'intrication et les signes.

A venir : Comment s'opère un calcul quantique ?

Nous expliquerons prochainement les applications suivantes en calcul quantique, sans avoir recours aux équations.

  • Circuit quantique
  • Porte quantique
    • Porte X (négation classique)
    • Porte Z (changement de signe)
    • Porte CNOT (introduit l'enchevêtrement)
    • Porte de Hadamard (introduit la superposition et le signe)
  • La téléportation d'un qubit
  • L'algorithme de Deutsch et de Deutsch-Jossa pour comprendre l'interférence
  • L'algorithme de recherche de Grover
  • Non-localité quantique

Aussi à venir : Les mathématiques derrière notre représenttion, et pourquoi elle fonctionne.